Please correct the following

    Request A Free Catalog

    Which Catalog would you like?


    Would you like to receive email-only specials?



    Free Trial - AOPA Flight Training Magazine

    This free offer is valid for student pilots residing in the U.S. and limited to one free trial membership per student. It cannot be combined with a paid AOPA membership. No purchase necessary.

    Email Sign-up

    Sporty's Pilot Shop

    Why wait for the next catalog to hit your mailbox? If you sign up for our Email Specials, you’ll receive new product announcements right away. You’ll also get access to special offers and photo contests.

    Free Shipping
    Flight Gear Mission Bag 5516A Flight Gear Mission Bag
    Rated 4.5 /5 based on 74 customer reviews
    50
    Product description: A fully customizable flight bag This completely new design has a sleek shape that takes up very little space in the cockpit, but has dedicated pockets for everything you need. Plus, our exclusive MyBag™ system allows you to customize and expand your flight bag with a variety of snap-on accessories. Now you can make the bag as big or as small as you need for every mission. • Top opening for easy access in flight—perfect for storing behind or between seats • Quick-access external pockets for flashlight, pen, fuel tester and charts • Internal file folders for organizing charts or paperwork • Accessories can be attached to bag or used separately with included belt attachment Includes hard rubber handle and shoulder strap. Measures 10”w x 8”d x 13”h. The MyBag System Sporty's exclusive MyBag system, based on the bags carried by the US Army, allows you to customize your flight bag to match your mission--add or remove additional storage as needed. Both the Flight Gear Backpack and the Mission Bag include rows of heavy duty nylon webbing that allow accessories to be quickly and securely attached. Need to take an extra headset along? Just snap on a headset case--or two. You can also add custom accessories for a radio, sunglasses and more. Embroidery Instructions - Sporty's® will embroider up to three initials on your new Flight Gear® bag. Embroidery is silver thread only and is centered on the "double-zipper flap". Place embroidery instructions - up to three initials - in Item Message Box. See all Flight Gear Products

    Click image to zoom

    Additional Photos

    Flight Gear Mission Bag

    Overall Customer Rating

    Read all 74 Reviews
    $50.00
    (Original price $62.95)

    Notes

    • please allow up to two business days for embroidery
    • please specify embroidery option
    • please specify up to three initials in item message box
    Embroidery

    Professionally wrapped in navy blue paper with brilliant white ribbon and a personalized card. Please allow 1 extra day for processing gift wrapped orders.

    ID: 5516A
    This product is no longer available from Sporty’s. This page is for informational purposes only. If you need assistance, please contact customer service at 1.513.735.9000
    Every order enters you to win a new airplane!
    A fully customizable flight bag
    This completely new design has a sleek shape that takes up very little space in the cockpit, but has dedicated pockets for everything you need. Plus, our exclusive MyBag™ system allows you to customize and expand your flight bag with a variety of snap-on accessories. Now you can make the bag as big or as small as you need for every mission.

    • Top opening for easy access in flight—perfect for storing behind or between seats
    • Quick-access external pockets for flashlight, pen, fuel tester and charts
    • Internal file folders for organizing charts or paperwork
    • Accessories can be attached to bag or used separately with included belt attachment

    Includes hard rubber handle and shoulder strap. Measures 10”w x 8”d x 13”h.

    The MyBag System
    Sporty's exclusive MyBag system, based on the bags carried by the US Army, allows you to customize your flight bag to match your mission--add or remove additional storage as needed. Both the Flight Gear Backpack and the Mission Bag include rows of heavy duty nylon webbing that allow accessories to be quickly and securely attached. Need to take an extra headset along? Just snap on a headset case--or two. You can also add custom accessories for a radio, sunglasses and more.

    Embroidery Instructions - Sporty's® will embroider up to three initials on your new Flight Gear® bag. Embroidery is silver thread only and is centered on the "double-zipper flap". Place embroidery instructions - up to three initials - in Item Message Box.

    Notes

    • please allow up to two business days for embroidery
    • please specify embroidery option
    • please specify up to three initials in item message box
    Overall
    Durability
    Reliability
    Value
    Usability
    Expected
    100% (0)
    100% (0)
    100% (0)
    100% (0)
    100% (0)
    Overall Rating
    Average
    0
    Total Reviews
    Recommended
    (100%)(100%)
    |   Order By
    Page of 4
    74

    Date - 12-17-2012

    Rating - Private

    Overall
    Durability
    Reliability
    Value
    Usability
    Expected
    Recommended Yes
    Pros

    Good construction and fabric.

    Cons

    A little smaller for my needs.

    General Comments

    ( No General Comments Listed From Reviewer )

    Reviewer - pandaargentino

    Location - buenos aires,

    Date - 11-12-2012

    Rating - ATP

    Overall
    Durability
    Reliability
    Value
    Usability
    Expected
    Recommended Yes
    Pros

    ( No Pros Listed From Reviewer )

    Cons

    the pocket of opening should be bigger upper

    General Comments

    Very good handbag for diary use

    Date - 11-10-2012

    Rating - Private

    Overall
    Durability
    Reliability
    Value
    Usability
    Expected
    Recommended Yes
    Pros

    ( No Pros Listed From Reviewer )

    Cons

    ( No Cons Listed From Reviewer )

    General Comments

    ( No General Comments Listed From Reviewer )

    Reviewer - Petrolero

    Location - Denver, CO

    Date - 10-31-2012

    Rating - Private

    Overall
    Durability
    Reliability
    Value
    Usability
    Expected
    Recommended Yes
    It's a good bag
    Pros

    ( No Pros Listed From Reviewer )

    Cons

    ( No Cons Listed From Reviewer )

    General Comments

    I also have the middle-size sporty's bag, which is a great bag. This one is for my wife and it suits her fine since she doesn't carry all the same pilot junk like I do. It is mostly for her headset and a few other little things. When the headset is out, it can crush up and stow in the console.

    Date - 10-20-2012

    Rating - Commercial

    Overall
    Durability
    Reliability
    Value
    Usability
    Expected
    Recommended No
    Needs improvement
    Pros

    Good size. Durable material.

    Cons

    1) Needs a strap inside to secure your headset.
    2) This bag is advertised as a modular type of bag that is expandable to fit your needs, however, the add-ons attach with a strap and loop type system. This isn't the best method of attaching add-on bags. I would prefer a snap or zipper attachment system.
    3) The add-on bags attach to an unsecured pocket which allows a lot of sagging and looks cheap.

    General Comments

    If you just want the bag, I would recommend it. It you plan to buy additional bags to attach, you may be disappointed.

    Location - Gainesville, FL

    Date - 10-7-2012

    Rating - Private

    Overall
    Durability
    Reliability
    Value
    Usability
    Expected
    Recommended Yes
    Pros

    Great bag. Very durable and easy to keep charts headphone and logs in.

    Cons

    Awkward to carry

    General Comments

    ( No General Comments Listed From Reviewer )

    Date - 10-3-2012

    Rating - Private

    Overall
    Durability
    Reliability
    Value
    Usability
    Expected
    Recommended Yes
    Solid bag
    Pros

    Great bag with good easy access pockets. No regrets.

    Cons

    Maybe it would be nice if the top flap had a zipper fishnet.

    General Comments

    Nice bag with just enough room. Okay, with all the Terminal Procedures I jam into it, it is a bit snug with my headset. It's perfect for day to day flying.

    Reviewer - astonmartin

    Date - 8-21-2012

    Rating - Student

    Overall
    Durability
    Reliability
    Value
    Usability
    Expected
    Recommended Yes
    Pros

    ( No Pros Listed From Reviewer )

    Cons

    Wish it were a little bigger inside to carry another book or two-i.e. hold 3 or 4 books(From the Groung Up/Flight Trainging Manual) instead of just 1 or 2

    General Comments

    Overall great bag. I first bought it when I saw it on Sportys website because I saw its dimensions. Fits perfectly on the back rack of my 83 Honda Shadow 500-which is the main reason I went for it in the first place. Fits all my basic gear: ASA headset, logbook, manual ASA E6B, Sportys Bifold kneeboard for cross country, Canada Flight Supplement, From the Ground Up, AIM, spare batteries, pennciles, Sportys E6B, CX-2 etc. I also got a bunch of extra attachments for it. If I grab a soda from the cafeteria, put it in my water bottle holder and ride back home no prob. Very solid.

    Date - 8-8-2012

    Rating - Instrument

    Overall
    Durability
    Reliability
    Value
    Usability
    Expected
    Recommended Yes
    Pros

    ( No Pros Listed From Reviewer )

    Cons

    ( No Cons Listed From Reviewer )

    General Comments

    ( No General Comments Listed From Reviewer )

    Reviewer - sbashton@yahoo.com

    Location - arsaw, IN

    Date - 7-17-2012

    Rating - Commercial

    Overall
    Durability
    Reliability
    Value
    Usability
    Expected
    Recommended Yes
    Pros

    ( No Pros Listed From Reviewer )

    Cons

    ( No Cons Listed From Reviewer )

    General Comments

    ( No General Comments Listed From Reviewer )

    Reviewer - Mike

    Location - Watertown, NY

    Date - 7-5-2012

    Rating - Commercial

    Overall
    Durability
    Reliability
    Value
    Usability
    Expected
    Recommended Yes
    Great flight bag!
    Pros

    Definitely enough storage for all of your pubs. Easily accessible while in flight.

    Cons

    ( No Cons Listed From Reviewer )

    General Comments

    ( No General Comments Listed From Reviewer )

    Date - 5-22-2012

    Rating - Private

    Overall
    Durability
    Reliability
    Value
    Usability
    Expected
    Recommended Yes
    Pros

    Has plenty of room for my headset, and my iPad with its kneeboard (Ok, a little tight with the knee board...)

    Cons

    ( No Cons Listed From Reviewer )

    General Comments

    ( No General Comments Listed From Reviewer )

    Date - 2-7-2012

    Rating - Student

    Overall
    Durability
    Reliability
    Value
    Usability
    Expected
    Recommended Yes
    Pros

    Was an excellent choice. All of my gear fits perfectly in the bag. The pockets are in a good postion and size to be of use.

    Cons

    You have to open the bag completely to remove the larger books at the back. But what bag is perfect.

    General Comments

    ( No General Comments Listed From Reviewer )

    Reviewer - Alan H.

    Location - , GA

    Date - 2-1-2012

    Rating - Student

    Overall
    Durability
    Reliability
    Value
    Usability
    Expected
    Recommended Yes
    Wonderful Bag
    Pros

    Good manageable size.
    Rugged design.
    Plenty of pockets.

    Cons

    Would work better if you buy the additional headset bag.
    Of course, I am sure that I am packing too much crap.

    General Comments

    ( No General Comments Listed From Reviewer )

    Date - 1-24-2012

    Rating - Student

    Overall
    Durability
    Reliability
    Value
    Usability
    Expected
    Recommended Yes
    Pros

    ( No Pros Listed From Reviewer )

    Cons

    ( No Cons Listed From Reviewer )

    General Comments

    ( No General Comments Listed From Reviewer )

    Date - 1-18-2012

    Rating - ATP

    Overall
    Durability
    Reliability
    Value
    Usability
    Expected
    Recommended Yes
    Pros

    ( No Pros Listed From Reviewer )

    Cons

    ( No Cons Listed From Reviewer )

    General Comments

    ( No General Comments Listed From Reviewer )

    Reviewer - alforda

    Location - Lemoore, CA

    Date - 1-5-2012

    Rating - Private

    Overall
    Durability
    Reliability
    Value
    Usability
    Expected
    Recommended Yes
    Pros

    ( No Pros Listed From Reviewer )

    Cons

    ( No Cons Listed From Reviewer )

    General Comments

    ( No General Comments Listed From Reviewer )

    Date - 12-30-2011

    Rating - Student

    Overall
    Durability
    Reliability
    Value
    Usability
    Expected
    Recommended Yes
    Pros

    ( No Pros Listed From Reviewer )

    Cons

    ( No Cons Listed From Reviewer )

    General Comments

    Superior Product...Super fast delivery...
    Very much recommend!

    Reviewer - VRD

    Location - SF Bay area, CA

    Date - 11-17-2011

    Rating - Student

    Overall
    Durability
    Reliability
    Value
    Usability
    Expected
    Recommended Yes
    Good functional bag
    Pros

    Functional and decent size.

    Cons

    I expected the trans-receiver pouch with the bag and not to go for a separate purchase.

    General Comments

    ( No General Comments Listed From Reviewer )

    Location - Phoenix, AZ

    Date - 11-15-2011

    Rating - Commercial

    Overall
    Durability
    Reliability
    Value
    Usability
    Expected
    Recommended Yes
    Too Big for a CFI
    Pros

    Lots of Compartments

    Cons

    Bag is too big for a CFI

    General Comments

    ( No General Comments Listed From Reviewer )

    ( No Reviews Found )
    Page of 4

    One Year Guarantee

    Our one-year guarantee has not changed since we introduced our first product in 1962. If for any reason you are not 100% satisfied with your purchase, let us know—we will make it right. If you would like a refund or exchange, please return the product on a timely basis in the same condition in which it was received.

    Price Guarantee

    Sporty’s guarantees competitive pricing on everything we sell. If you find a competitor offering an identical item at a lower advertised price, just mail or fax us the ad, and Sporty’s will match that price.

    Standard Express Shipping

    We offer the fastest shipping in the business, so you won’t have to wait for your important charts or a last-minute gift. Since we stock almost everything we sell, we offer same day shipping: in-stock orders placed by 5pm Eastern (weekdays), will be shipped that same day, often within minutes of ordering.

    Plus, all orders arrive in just 2 business days with standard shipping.

    Overnight shipping is also available on most items.

    Shipping

    Return Policy

    For over 50 years, in addition to same day shipping, Sporty’s has offered same day returns and same day exchanges. Each day, we process all returns and exchanges before new orders go out. We know of no other company who does this!

    Sporty’s Shops
    ATTN: Returns Dept
    Clermont County/Sporty’s Airport
    2001 Sporty’s Drive
    Batavia, OH 45103
    Customer Service
    Privacy Policy

    A timely basis would allow enough time for you to try the product once or twice. We feel 30 days allows ample time to do this. After 30 days, we will continue to support the product for a full year, but refunds and exchanges are not accepted.

    Contact Us

    To Order
    1.800.776.7897
    Customer Service
    1.513.735.9000
    Fax
    1.800.543.8633

    Connect

    Sign Up for Special Offers

    Blogs

    Sporty’s Family of Catalogs

    Wright Bros Preferred Living Tool Shop
    Copyright © 2000-2014, Sportsman’s Market, Inc.