Guide to the Biennial Flight Review

$12.95
$12.95

Availability: In stock

Product ID: M284A

-Spanitz This book contains answers to the most commonly asked questions about the BFR, questions and answers in preparation for it, appropriate references for further study, relevant Advisory Circulars, and a preparatory checklist. All information is relevant to both the BFR candidates and issuing CFIs.



The Guide to the Biennial Flight Review is updated to reflect important regulatory, procedural, and training changes including Temporary Flight Restrictions (TFRs), runw...

Read more
-Spanitz This book contains answers to the most commonly asked questions about the BFR, questions and answers in preparation for it, appropriate references for further study, relevant Advisory Circulars, and a preparatory checklist. All information is relevant to both the BFR candidates and issuing CFIs.

The Guide to the Biennial Flight Review is updated to reflect important regulatory, procedural, and training changes including Temporary Flight Restrictions (TFRs), runway incursion avoidance procedures, and risk management. References for further study are provided throughout the book, and these are all updated to reflect the recent release of new FAA publications.

All pilots — whether they fly for pleasure, business, or as a career — must take a flight review every 2 years (this check is sometimes called a Biennial Flight Review, BFR, or Flight Review). This book provides complete preparation for pilots taking the flight review, as well as for the flight instructors conducting the review. The FAA offers options for completing the BFR, and the book covers all of these in detail so the reader can assess the best means to complete the FAA requirement based on their proficiency level and aviation goals. International pilots use this book as a means to familiarize themselves with flight operations in the U.S.

The BFR must include 1 hour of ground instruction as well as 1 hour of flight instruction. The information provided in this book may be used to fulfill these requirements: a 1-hour question and answer session, a written test, as well as recommendations for what to do during the flight. Soft cover, 5” x 8-1/4”, 160 pages. (ASA part #OEG-BFR4)
Reviews
4.5 / 5.0
19 Reviews
5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Star
12
5
2
0
0
Durability
4.2 / 5
Reliability
4.3 / 5
Performance
4.5 / 5
Ease Of Use
4.4 / 5
Value
4.4 / 5
Would You Recommend?
Yes (1)
Durability
4 / 5
Reliability
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
Ease Of Use
5 / 5
Would You Recommend?
Yes
The guide is ok. Maybe some more questions to find out what you still know and what you forgot
August 10, 2017
Purchased
over 2 years ago
Durability
4 / 5
Reliability
5 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
Ease Of Use
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
A Very good guide.
Very easy to read and understand.
March 13, 2017
Durability
4 / 5
Reliability
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
Ease Of Use
4 / 5
Value
4 / 5
LOOKS GOOD. TOO NEW A PILOT TO FAIRLY EVALUATE. GAVE IT 4 STARS.
December 31, 2014
Durability
4 / 5
Reliability
3 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
Ease Of Use
3 / 5
Value
3 / 5
Pros: Well prepared and executed. Easy to read and find specific points Cons: Slightly outdated. My edition was 2006. Some changes in medical requirements and procedures have been made since. I realize updates cannot be made annually, but when significant changes occur, such documents should be updated.
December 31, 2014
Durability
4 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
Ease Of Use
4 / 5
Value
5 / 5
Contained everything I needed to study. CFI used it as a question guide during oral quiz. Nice to have all the info in one well written book.
December 31, 2014
Durability
5 / 5
Reliability
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
Ease Of Use
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
Pros: I've been away from flying for several years and this guide helped me prepare for my BFR. It was a great review book!
December 31, 2014
Durability
5 / 5
Reliability
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
Ease Of Use
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
Pros: This is an informative guide that will give you the information you need to pass or conduct an effective flight review. Follow this link for more useful information: http://www.aopa.org/asf/publications/sa03.pdf Cons: Of course, this guide doesn't really have "all" the information you need for the Flight Review. But it will help point out your deficient areas that need attention. This book along with a couple FAA resources (listed within the first few pages of the guide) will have you ready for the Flight Review in minimal time.
December 31, 2014
Durability
3 / 5
Reliability
3 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
Ease Of Use
5 / 5
Value
3 / 5
Pros: Good review of basic information. Good resource for the part time CFI Cons: Most of the same info can be obtained for free from FAA web sites Nice to have as a guide for conducting Flight Reviews
September 17, 2014
Durability
4 / 5
Reliability
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
Ease Of Use
4 / 5
Value
4 / 5
Pros: Good overview and prep guide for periodic reviews. Cons: Index could be more usable/reference easy. Good book overall, but the Index could be much easier to use.
May 14, 2013
Durability
4 / 5
Reliability
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
Ease Of Use
4 / 5
Value
4 / 5
Pros: covers a wide range of topics--it was just as i expected. gives me ideas on items that need additional study.
August 15, 2012
Question and Answer
Start typing your question and we'll check if it was already asked and answered. Learn More
Browse 2 questions Browse 2 questions and 2 answers
When was this guide last updated?
A shopper on May 21, 2019
BEST ANSWER: The seventh edition was published in 2013. I purchased it the spring of 2017.
Is this booklet current for 2016 information?
Noel P on Aug 12, 2016
BEST ANSWER: It is the most current edition published by ASA....it doesn't include the new ACS requirements that were implemented in June 2016 vs previous PTS requirements, but that really shouldn't be an issue. The FAA website FAA.safety.gov has more info on the new ACS requirements and webinars, for wings credits, if you're interested in finding out more about them. Safe flying!
Also Purchased
Order With Confidence

Our Guarantee

Our guarantee has not changed since we introduced our first product in 1962. If for any reason you are not 100% satisfied with your purchase, let us know – we will make it right. If you would like a refund or exchange, please return the product on a timely basis (within 30 days), in the same condition in which it was received. After 30 days, we will continue to support the product for a full year, but refunds and exchanges are not accepted. Personalized products such as embroidered shirts or engraved glasses are not returnable.

Price Guarantee

Sporty’s guarantees competitive pricing on everything we sell. If you find a competitor offering an identical item at a lower advertised price, just mail or fax us the ad, and Sporty’s will match that price.

Standard Express Shipping

We offer the fastest shipping in the business, so you won’t have to wait for your important charts or a last-minute gift. Since we stock almost everything we sell, we offer same day shipping: in-stock orders placed by 5pm Eastern (weekdays), will be shipped that same day, often within minutes of ordering.

Orders shipping to the United States have three shipping options: ground (which typically takes 3-5 days), 2-day air, or overnight. Note that these are days in transit are business days, so Saturday and Sunday are not included. We ship by UPS and US Mail.

Overnight shipping is also available on most items.

Shipping Zone Map

Return Policy

For over 50 years, in addition to same day shipping, Sporty’s has offered same day returns and same day exchanges. Each day, we process all returns and exchanges before new orders go out. We know of no other company who does this!

Sporty’s Shops
ATTN: Returns Dept
Clermont County/Sporty’s Airport
2001 Sporty’s Drive
Batavia, OH 45103
Customer Service
Privacy Policy